Death Trip

January 7, 2009

Ron Asheton was found dead in his home in Ann Arbor yesterday. The Detroit Free Press has a pretty decent article about it here (sorry, can’t get this to hyperlink for some reason):
http://www.freep.com/article/20090106/ENT04/90106024/1035/ENT

I am not one to get emotional distraught over the death of a celebrity, but this was a real disappointment for me. I first came across The Stooges on a “Decades of Rock” sort of compilation cassette that my mom had back in junior high and I was blown away. Unlike all of the other punk stuff I was into at the time, they actually had really rad, scorching solos. I didn’t have any money at the time, or even a way to get to a record store for that matter, so most of my music came from tapes my friends would make for me (my favorite at the time being a a mix of Minor Threat and the first Suicide Machines album). Anyhow, none of my friends had even heard of them, so I was forced to listen to Search and Destroy over and over again on that tape, which also had songs by the Sex Pistols, Television, The Dead Boys and The Talking Heads on it. Many of the songs on that tape remain my favorite to this day.

Another reason this bummed me out is that he was also an Ann Arbor guy, and bands like The Stooges and MC5 gave me some strange pride in the place. Once, a friend and I went on a quest to find the places where they all used to live and practice. Although we treated it as a pilgrimage to the Mecca, it was actually pretty lame because they were just typical places around town.

Here are my two favorite songs by them:

The Stooges- Shake Appeal

The Stooges- Your Pretty Face is Going to Hell

Leave a Reply

